8packmom

Party invitation

In Daily life on June 14, 2010 at 2:30 am

The other night Sebastian comes running over to me in a panic.  “When is Ez’s birthday party?” I was confused.  He had just been at a birthday party the weekend before. 

“I don’t know.” I replied. “Isn’t the invitation up on the board?”

Sebastian looked at me as though I had a few too many drinks, which given the way the week had been going that wouldn’t be a suprise.  “No it isn’t on the board.  I gave it to you the other day! What if I miss the party?”

Now I may be disorganized at times but I can honestly say that out of all six children, no one has ever missed a birthday party they had been invited to.  Their own parties yes, others no.

So I did what any other crazy happy parent would do.  I tore apart the kitchen, and my computer area looking for this invitation.  No luck.

By this time Sebastian was crying, and telling me how mean I was that I lost the invitation.  It was at this point that I started to think maybe I was losing it, maybe I wasn’t equipped top deal with six children on my own, maybe I was a mean and bad mother.  How could I misplace a party invitation for goodness sake! 

Feeling like the terrible mother I apparently was I went and got a wildberry, and sat done at my laptop.  Suddenly the notification chimed.  Hate mail no doubt due to my awful parenting skills.

It was Ez’s mother replying.  Yes Sebastian was invited to Ez’s party, but they were not sure when his party was going to be.  They hadn’t planned it yet.   So this so called birthday invitation Sebastian had didn’t even exist.  Whew!  Glad to know it was him with the issues and not me!  Ez’s mother thought it was pretty funny though so at least I didn’t feel like a complete moron, just half of one.

What I found most interesting though about this whole invisible party invitation episode is how our children (well at last mine) can take one little issue, and turn it into a huge ordeal so that we the parent go completely insane attempting to deal with it!  Have you had a situation like this?  I want to know that I am not the only one out there who’s children are making them feel like they have no idea what they are doing! 

Until next time, the 6packmom

 

Leave a Reply

