8packmom

Benfits to c-sections? Give me a break!

In Uncategorized on August 11, 2010 at 2:26 pm

              I feel sick to my stomach.

             Not because I am pregnant, but because I just read through a bunch of blogs / articles written by various people (I won’t mention any names) who seem to think it is really neat to be able to schedule the delivery of your baby via c-section  – and the best part?  Some of these women have never even had a c-section! ( there is an article in the magazine Oh Baby by Julie Cole that is actually a Good article on C-sections so read that one for sure).

            I have six children.  My first was a vaginal delivery and she did get a little stuck at the shoulders but all was okay.  She weighed 6lbs 8oz.  My second was a disaster.  He was laying transverse, face up and so big (almost 9lbs) the Dr. was not my obstetrician because Joshua had decided to arrive a few weeks early (imagine what he could have weighed had he been full term!) so this Dr. tried everything to get him out – vacuum, forceps, punching my stomach…bottom line Joshua should have been a c-section but wasn’t and so consequently was born a “blue baby” and in distress.  It was a horrible experience and to this day we still ponder whether it was because of his lack of oxygen due to his birth experience which led him to be Autistic and ADHD.  We will never know of course but the question still hangs over my head almost every day like a black cloud.

            Through ultra sound and other tests we discovered that my third child Sebastian was indeed another boy and by 36 weeks he was already measuring big so my OB and I decided that I would have an induction to hopefully get him out before he became too big like his brother had been.  Opps did I mention I am only 4feet 11 inches?

            The induction was done at 37 weeks and started out well, however Sebastian decided to follow his brothers footsteps and turned sideways.  That was all it took – It was decided that a c-section would be the safest option for both me and Sebastian.  It ended up that I was required to be put under general anaesthetic, lost a lot of blood and required a blood transfusion.  After the fact I also developed a really bad infection that spread throughout my body and required me to be back in the hospital without my new baby for almost a week.  Oh yeah people the benefits are really stacking up!

            The last three babies were c-sections.  Why?  It had become obvious that my babies were typically too big for me to deliver safely, and honestly, I had already experienced practically every type of birth you can imagine (with the exception of natural birth, water birth or a home birth) and had had enough.  I was scared to go through all of that again.  I had almost lost one baby so as long as my babies were delivered safely I didn’t really care which way they were brought into the world. 

            So are there Pro’s to having a c-section?  Yes but in my opinion many of them are simply ones for convenience such as:

  1. Knowing the exact due date
  2. Being able to avoid the scrambling around and trying to get someone to watch your children if you go into labour at 3am.
  3. No actually labour.
  4. Being able to stay in the hospital for a few days – hey this was really my only vacation away from the other children.
  5. Having people dot over you because you have just had surgery (okay I didn’t really get this luxury but I know many who have.)

 

In my opinion there are more cons to having a c-section that are not convenient at all:

  1. It is a major surgery and has risks involved.
  2. There is pain involved.
  3. It is harder to care for your newborn and even harder if you have more children at home.
  4. Recovery time is much longer.
  5. You end up with a nasty scar that for some lucky women fades and you never see it again, however if like myself and you have had more than one c-section you may have a really nasty scar that bulges and gives what I call an “overhang” of skin. Ewww.
  6. It is actually quite unnerving to walk into a surgical room, see all the instruments and realize your stomach is about to be cut open.  As well you may be frozen but you still feel a tugging as your stomach is mutilated and your baby is pulled out.

              I am pregnant again with my 7th child and will undergo my 5th c-section in February.  Am I happy about that?  Not particularly but I am fortunate that I have an amazing OB who understands and cares about me and my body and is willing to answer my questions even after so many pregnancies. If I could, I would love to deliver this child vaginally but it just isn’t safe and I am okay with that.  I do not feel as though I am a bad mother or cheating myself or baby from a real birth experience.  In fact I know I am a great mom because I am giving my child what is best for him or her – a safe entry into this world, and isn’t that what is really important? 

Until next time

The6packmom

Leave a Reply

